Response: 5/27/14

Hello again. Yes, I know it’s been a long time since I’ve done one of these. I’m aware of that. I just hadn’t had anything important to say, until now.

Now, where should I begin?

* BuzzerBlog has just opened up under new management, that of Cory “Pacdude” Anotado. Normally, this would not be a bad thing, except for one article. He has compiled a list of the “Top 5 Game Shows To Watch While Stoned”. I quote the disclaimer:

Note: Hey, if it’s not legal where you live, don’t smoke weed. Also, if you’re a kid under 21, don’t smoke weed. Your brain’s still soft and malleable. Wait until you’re older and your best years are behind you. You’ll need the weed to cope.”

While this may be considered quite topical considering what is happening in Colorado and in many other places in the country, I think it’s quite inappropriate, and I’m not alone.

 

Personally, I have had plenty of experience with amphetamines, but only the ones prescribed to me. I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I vote Republican. I believe in the right to life (except when the mother is in medical danger) and the sanctity of marriage. It maybe all right for Cory to support the legalization and use of weed, that’s his business. But there may be kids who are reading this, like I once was at an early age.

*Speaking of topical and social media, Pat Sajak’s been doing quite a bit of tweeting lately. Among other things, he says this (in chronological order):

 

Now, what you have to remember is that this man once hosted a late-night talk show on CBS when he left Daytime Wheel in 1989. In March 1990, two weeks before his show was cancelled, he asked Rush Limbaugh to guest host.  Rush used the hour to get a response about the veto of a bill in Idaho which would have restricted abortion. According to Limbaugh himself, dissident audience members were planted by producers as a publicity stunt. The you-know-what hit the you-know-where. 

Pat has also hosted a weekend talk show on Fox News that lasted a few months in 2003.  I think it’s pretty clear that Mr. Sajak is a conservative. And there’s nothing wrong with that. I say that because I too, am a conservative.

Is Pat entitled to his opinions? Absolutely. Is he entitled to share them? Under the Constitution, he is. Should he “poke a stick in a hornets’ nest just to hear the buzzing”? Perhaps not. Some people, like me, can get away with it at times. Most of the time, though, this gets me a verbal thrashing from one of my parents. Now, I could probably spout my political opinions and use the word “racist” freely in a tweet and nobody would notice it. The worst that could possibly happen is that I lose followers, or I tell my parents about it and they force me to pull the tweet down. (My parents don’t follow me on Twitter.) The thing is, I’m not getting paid to ask people for three (sometimes four) consonants  and a vowel every night. 

Some may be saying, “But Greg, he’s not using Wheel as an outlet for his beliefs like Barker did on Price.” They would have a point. Of course he wouldn’t be using the puzzleboard to spout conservative propaganda. Harry Friedman (who OKs all the puzzles) would never let him get away with it. That’s why Pat uses his private Twitter account.

I believe all celebrities are in a delicate position when using social media. They may be just like you and me, but they’re different. They’re well known. They have to deal with the backlash. And this could cost him if he’s not too careful. Perhaps hosting the #1 game show in syndication for over 30 years has made him cocky. Perhaps he should step down gracefully and devote himself more fully to conservative causes, like Bob Barker has done with his animal rights causes. Maybe host another talk show, I don’t know.

As for a hosting replacement, here’s a suggestion:

 

 

* Speaking of hosts, Cedric The Entertainer has decided to step down as host of Millionaire. His replacement is Terry Crews, better known for his Old Spice commercials. Here’s what I mean:

 

My question is: why? This man has no hosting experience. Unlike Drew Carey, who actually hosted Whose Line and Pepsi’s Play for a Billion (if you can call those game shows), Terry’s only “game show” exposure was a 1999-2000 American Gladiators clone named Battle Dome. (This was all I could find of the show, I’m sorry to say.)

 

 

I don’t know what all went into the auditioning and selection process for Cedric’s replacement, but I just hope Terry doesn’t become the next Rolf Benirschke. 

 

About gameking77

I'm an average guy who loves game shows and interviewing people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

